Skip to content

Hastings: my vision for the next five years

April 3, 2015
Nick has been a regular attender at the St Leonards Festival over the last 8 years

Nick has been a regular attender at the St Leonards Festival over the last 8 years

Hastings Independent Press has asked the candidates for the General Election in Hastings & Rye a series of questions, and the answers have been published over the editions before Polling Day.  Here is what I said about my vision for Hastings over the next five years:

‘Hastings and St Leonards are fantastic places to grow up, live and work.  My partner and I both work locally.  Our children go to school and church here.  We spend our money and our leisure time here.

‘We moved here in 2007 because of Hastings’ unique combination of history, lifestyle, natural beauty and the arts.

‘But I accept that there have been significant problems unresolved over decades, and that there continue to be challenges ahead.

‘I want to see a more self-confident Hastings in five years’ time.  A town making the most of the skills of its people – young and old.  A town where municipal politics is less tribal and more geared towards helping our most vulnerable, in a cross-party way.

‘Improving our transport links, and building more affordable housing will improve prosperity and quality of life.  But we must protect our architectural heritage too; and sort out our planning system once and for all.

‘I believe our children and young people deserve excellent schools, colleges and sports facilities; as well as the possibility of working in interesting, well-paid jobs, in the town that they grew up.

‘I want us to facilitate high tech and green industries locating here to create jobs.

‘With the regeneration of the Pier, there is the opportunity to build a unique tourism offer based in the arts, and our collective approach to the environment.  We must work with other local authorities along the coast to join-up thinking, funding and resources.

‘I believe my experience of living, working, and bringing up a family in the town, along with the skills and expertise that I bring as an advocate for our most vulnerable, make me the best candidate for the job in May.  I hope your readers will give me the opportunity to prove it.’

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

